Return to Headlines

Argonaut and Redwood Are National Blue Ribbon Schools

October 1, 2018

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today announced 349 U.S. schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018. Among them are Saratoga Union School District’s Argonaut Elementary and Redwood Middle Schools. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“I'm pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees.  “We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students' accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.  

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. On November 7-8, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 300 public and 49 private school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.  A small SUSD team of school and district representatives will participate.

When learning that two of our district’s schools were recognized this year, Superintendent Nancy Johnson commented, “Given how few schools receive this prestigious award annually, the fact that both Argonaut and Redwood earned this distinction is a matter of great pride for our whole community. Congratulations to Principals Karen van Putten and Barbara Neal, their students, staff and parents!”

View the entire PDF announcement including excerpts from the schools' Blue Ribbon profiles (English)

View the entire PDF announcement including excerpts from the schools' Blue Ribbon profile (Mandarin)