Parcel Tax Exemption Forms

  • Optional exemptions from the parcel tax are available. Paper copies of the form may be picked up from the Saratoga USD District Office (Building 2, Business Office) located at 20460 Forrest Hills Drive, Saratoga. Or you can download the forms below.

    Questions? Please contact the SUSD Business Office at (408) 867-3424, extension 208.


About the Parcel Tax

  • Update: On May 7, 2019, voters approved Measure A to renew the parcel tax for 8 years. The students and staff of the school district are profoundly grateful for the support from our community!

    On May 8, 2012, voters approved the Measure B Parcel Tax assessment of $68 per parcel per year.  The tax expires after 8 years. The tax is assessed against each parcel of taxable land in the school district. A parcel is defined as any parcel of land which lies wholly or partially within the boundaries of Saratoga Union School District, and receives a separate tax bill for property taxes from the Santa Clara County Assessor/Tax  Collector's Office.

    The Parcel Tax proceeds help ensure reliable funding that cannot be taken away from the state.  Parcel tax funds will:

    • Protect outstanding core academic programs in reading, writing, math and science
    • Retain highly qualified teachers
    • Support hands-on science classes for all grades
    • Help protect the number of instructional days in the school year
    • Provide books and instructional materials, including classroom technology

    No proceeds are used for administrative salaries and benefits.  Exemption forms are available for senior citizens and recipients of SSI for a disability.

Parcel Tax Oversight Committee

  • One of SUSD’s commitments is to maintain accountability and transparency with all expenditures of Measure B Parcel Tax dollars.  A key component of that commitment is maintaining an independent Oversight Committee that is to annually review the District’s compliance with the terms of the Parcel Tax.  The committee is designed to include parents/guardians as well as Saratoga community members.
    The Saratoga Union School District Board of Trustees thanks Saratoga community members who are willing to serve on the Measure B Parcel Tax Oversight Committee.  Committee members are:
    • Junqing Chen (new)
    • Grace Hu (new)
    • Christopher Kinn (new)
    • Jacob Lai (new)
    • Bethsheba Orero (returning)
    • Jeff Pangborn (re-applied for 2-year term)
    • Melissa Stanis (new)

    For more information about service on this committee, please see the Board Bylaw.


Bylaws and Minutes