About the Parcel Tax

  • The students and staff of the school district are profoundly grateful for the support from our community!

    On May 8, 2012, voters approved the Measure B Parcel Tax assessment of $68 per parcel per year.  On May 7, 2019, voters approved Measure A to renew the parcel tax for 8 more years with over 72% of the vote! The tax is assessed against each parcel of taxable land in the school district. A parcel is defined as any parcel of land which lies wholly or partially within the boundaries of Saratoga Union School District, and receives a separate tax bill for property taxes from the Santa Clara County Assessor/Tax  Collector's Office.

    The Parcel Tax proceeds help ensure reliable funding that cannot be taken away from the state.  Parcel tax funds:

    • Protect outstanding core academic programs in reading, writing, math and science
    • Retain highly qualified teachers
    • Support hands-on science classes for all grades
    • Help protect the number of instructional days in the school year
    • Provide books and instructional materials, including classroom technology

    No proceeds are used for administrative salaries and benefits. Optional exemption forms are available for senior citizens and recipients of SSI for a disability. You may download the forms from this webpage. 

    Questions? Please contact the SUSD Business Office at (408) 867-3424, extension 208.

  • Paper copies of these forms may be picked up from the Saratoga USD District Office (Building 2, Business Office) located at 20460 Forrest Hills Drive, Saratoga

    Questions? Please contact the SUSD Business Office at (408) 867-3424, extension 208.

Parcel Tax Oversight Committee

  • The Saratoga Union School District is currently seeking applicants to serve on the Measure B Oversight Committee for the 2020-2021 school year.

    One of SUSD’s commitments is to maintain accountability and transparency with all expenditures of Measure B Parcel Tax dollars.  A key component of that commitment is maintaining an independent Oversight Committee that is to annually review the District’s compliance with the terms of the Parcel Tax.  The committee is designed to include parents/guardians as well as Saratoga community members.

    Applications are available now.  Download the application or email aschaumburg@saratogausd.org to obtain the application.  The application deadline will be ongoing through March 1, 2021. 

     For more information about service on this committee, please see the Board Bylaw. Questions? contact Amy Schaumburg, aschaumburg@saratogausd.org.

Annual Reports and Minutes

Bylaws and Minutes