Skip To Main Content

Redwood Middle School Task Force

Contact The Task Force

For the most recent updates regarding the Task Force and its progress, please click on RMS Task Force menu entries on the right side of this page for the latest updates. 

If you have questions or comments at any time during the process, please email:

Redwood Middle School Task Force 2016-2017

Saratoga Union School District


Redwood Middle School Task Force 2016-17
Extending Excellence 

This site will provide you with ongoing updates regarding the District’s Redwood Middle School Task Force, which is a community collaboration to identify areas of excellence to celebrate and opportunities for continued improvement to enhance Redwood’s educational offerings. 

Project Phases:  

The project has been divided into four phases that will take place during the 2016-17 school year:   

  • Phase 1, July-September: Community Brainstorming
  • Phase 2, October-December: Task Force Formation
  • Phase 3, January - March: Development of Draft Ideas 
  • Phase 4, April-May: Refinement of Ideas for Board Consideration 

The project includes a collaborative process of inquiry, research, and feedback that may lead to both short and long term recommendations to the Board of Trustees for approval and implementation.  

Task Force Focus:  

Based on Phase 1 input from community, teachers, staff, parents and students, the Task Force will focus broadly on Student and Community Wellness, with special consideration given to how school culture and safety, student choice and electives, as well as school schedule can contribute to overall wellness. 

Opportunities for Input:  

Throughout the process, monthly updates will be posted to this website, as well as opportunities for community-wide input including online surveys (Dec/Jan & Mar/April) to help refine emerging ideas and community forums (Jan & April) for continued discussion.  

Task Force Members: 

Teachers & Staff:

Alexis Nesper
Cassie Sprenger
Jason Robertson
Jennifer Rocabado
Jonathan Jow
Laressa Mead
Michelle Lehner
Nicole Burruss
Paul Navarro

Dede Smullen
Hong Zhang
Honglin (Rocky) Li
Ilaria Keogh
Matthew Andrews
Rita Cao
Savitha Raghothamarao
Sophia Lim
Susanne von Stern
SUSD Board Representatives: 

Patty Buchanan
Susan Germeraad

SUSD Administration:

Barbara Neal
Nancy Johnson

Thank you to all of the individuals who applied in November 2016 to join the Redwood Task Force. The Task Force has been confirmed and is comprised of a diverse group of 22 members of the Redwood Community, including 9 teachers and staff, 9 parents, 2 administrators and 2 SUSD Board members representing various areas of expertise, skills and perspectives.  

Thank you to these individuals for their time and contributions to this important project as we continue to focus on and seek to improve student and community wellness at Redwood Middle School: