• Saratoga Union School District

     Redwood Middle School Logo

    Extending Excellence

    Redwood Middle School Task Force 2016-2017 

    During the 2016-17 school year, the Redwood Middle School Task Force studied opportunities to enhance and improve: 

    • Student and Community Wellness
    • School Climate, Culture and Safety
    • Student Choice and Electives
    • School Schedule

     Emerging Ideas Presented to Board of Trustees

    The Task Force presented its culminating report and a summary of emerging ideas to the Saratoga Union School District Board on May 11, 2017 for discussion and consideration. 

    The report includes an overview of the process and a summary of both shorter-term opportunities that might be implemented quickly, as well as longer-term projects to be considered over the next one to three years.

    A PDF copy of the final report and ideas for consideration is available here:

    2016-17 Culminating Task Force Report for Consideration  

    The Board will review and discuss the report again at its meeting on May 25 for potential action and next steps regarding implementation, which would be refined in the months ahead.

    Project Overview 

    This final report, as well as the monthly updates posted to this website and available through the links on the right, provide a history of the project, which included extensive collaborative input with the community, teachers and staff, parents, students and alumni during the 2016-17 school year: 

    • Phase 1, July-September: Community Brainstorming
    • Phase 2, October-December: Task Force Formation
    • Phase 3, January - March: Development of Draft Ideas
    • Phase 4, April-May: Refinement of Ideas for Board Consideration

    Contact Information and Appreciation       

    Members of the community with comments or questions regarding the Task Force are invited to e-mail: RMSTaskForce@saratogausd.org.

    Please join the Saratoga Union School District in thanking the more than 500 community members who contributed to this project through in-person community forums and online surveys, and in particular to the 22 Task Force members who brainstormed ideas, researched opportunities, and reviewed community input for consideration.

    2016-17 Task Force Members:

    Teachers & Staff:
    Alexis Nesper
    Cassie Sprenger
    Jason Robertson
    Jennifer Rocabado
    Jonathan Jow
    Laressa Mead
    Michelle Lehner
    Nicole Burruss
    Paul Navarro

    Dede Smullen
    Hong Zhang
    Honglin (Rocky) Li
    Ilaria Keogh
    Matthew Andrews
    Rita Cao
    Savitha Raghothamarao
    Sophia Lim
    Susanne von Stern

    SUSD Board Representatives: 
    Patty Buchanan
    Susan Germeraad

    SUSD Administration:
    Barbara Neal
    Nancy Johnson

    Facilitation by Centio Communications:
    Lana Guernsey
    Natalie Byrd